My Name is…

My name is…

Do you see me? I am everywhere.
Could you pick me out of a crowd?
Do you know what I look like?

Some say if I am found anywhere, that I am also everywhere.

I hide in plain sight where people kill others in the name of fear, prejudice or malice. I look on as babies writhe in pain and distress. I sneer at the man who can’t catch his breath under the weight of my presence and my brutality. I sit at the foot of a bed where woman and children are sold for the pleasure of others.

I have many faces.

I am often found among the most wealthy and privileged people and yet also the poorest.

When faced with oppression, I look the other way. I turn a blind eye to those who are in the most need.

I am everywhere and can be found whether you are looking for me or not. I present myself in courtrooms, on the streets, back alleys and church hallways.

I can be heard most often in voices of fear and rationalization. People justify me with their own inaction. Their deafening silence is my bread and butter.

I have traveled the world and am present in every generation since the beginning of time itself.

I have been found in many palaces, plantations, planned parenthood’s and police stations.

I hold positions of power and influence everywhere from political offices to church pulpits and parks.

My weapons are many…

I choose the side of the oppressor EVERY. TIME.

I dwell most comfortably among voices of apathy and indifference.

Unlike my counterpart, I have my eyes wide open.

I haunt families and nations.

So have you figured it out? Do you know my name? Who am I? And where will I show up next??

My name is…
Injustice.

The only one who can FIGHT me…is YOU

Leave a comment